T minus 18 days

20 07 2009

I seriously cannot believe I’m already starting my 3rd week of unemployment.  Nor can I believe that I’ve only got another 18 days before making the big move to Evanston.  I’m starting to feel some stress over it too, between the condo sale, the actual move itself, leaving friends/family behind, school/recruiting, etc.  I think to some extent, while I was still working my mind was somewhat distracted by the routine of working – if not the work itself – but now that I don’t have work I have a lot more time to think about things, and probably overthink them too.  So it was pretty good timing for a long weekend down the shore.  One of my closest friends and I spent last Friday thru Sunday in Wildwood and Cape May, and it was great to just get away, relax, sit on the beach and not think about anything school or move related.  I really love being down the shore in general, but Wildwood has a special place in my heart.  Growing up, my family would head down to Wildwood for a week each summer, so it’s very comfortable and almost feels like a home away from home when I’m there.

Unfortunately, like all good things, the weekend came to an end and now I’m back and working on the move to-do list again.  The couple who are buying my condo are doing the home inspection later this morning, which hopefully will be the last major hurdle before closing.  I can’t say just how glad I’ll be once this is over and we’re all set for the closing.  Packing and cleaning out the condo is progessing slowly but surely.  I’ve picked my fall classes (I chose Marketing Management in addition to the 3 courses we have to take).  My application for health insurance (I chose not to use the Northwestern student plan) was approved and is effective Aug. 1.  Next up on the to-do list for this week: make an appointment to see my dentist for a cleaning/checkup before I leave, bring my car in for periodic maintenance before the 800 mile drive to Chi-town, and continue to clean/pack.  And of course, spend as much time with friends and family as I can.  As the move date gets closer, I’m realizing just how much I underestimated how hard it would be to leave them when I move.

Actions

Information

One response

26 07 2009
Fridays From The Frontline | B-School Admissions Formula

[…] Others were already looking back at their summers and sharing additional thoughts or insights about their time in the warmer months. Melbourne ‘10 RonJon referred to himself in the second person and shared a photograph of his new niece. HBS ‘10 Gabrielle celebrated her 25th birthday and couldn’t believe how quickly her internship, and summer, has gone by. Darden ‘10 JulyDream was in the homestretch of her internship and felt that she had made a lot of progress on a big project. Kellogg ‘11 Orlando was also in his homestretch, literally selling his home and getting geared up for the move to Evanston. Kellogg ‘11 Jeremy completed his last internship day at the Arizon Attorney General’s office. AJ asked herself what she wanted from her career and had a major hair-related breakthrough. Foster ‘11 Helen also asked herself some questions, like how to get rid of a weird smell in a washing machine. Kellogg ‘11 Mike couldn’t believe he had been unemployed for three weeks and only had 18 days before his big move from the east coast to Evanston. […]

Leave a Reply

