Moving Day

6 08 2009

Well, actually yesterday was moving day. After all the preparations and packing, the moving company came bright and early yesterday morning to pick up my stuff. Two hours later, all my worldly possessions were loaded on the back of a truck, and I was left with a completely empty condo. It was a little strange, even without any of my things, the condo still felt like home. As I did a final walk through the condo to make sure I hadn’t forgotten anything, part of me still couldn’t believe that I wouldn’t be back there again. As much as it wasn’t my dream home, it was my home for the past 5 years and there were a lot of good memories made there. So now, I’m staying with my sister for a few days until I leave for Evanston on Saturday. I really can’t wait to get going. I’ve never been real good with goodbyes, and I feel like the past few weeks have been one extended goodbye – to my family, to my friends, to my job and coworkers – and I’m ready to get past the goodbye phase and get to the “meeting new friends and starting school” phase. That phase sounds like a lot more fun.

One bit of frustrating news from yesterday: the closing date on the sale of my condo has been delayed until probably next week. Originally the closing was supposed to be today (hence my moving out yesterday), but my buyers’ mortgage paperwork isn’t finalized yet so we can’t close. The mortgage has been approved, thankfully, so it’s not a huge issue, just a matter of the bank having all the paperwork in order. So since the close will happen after I leave town, I’m meeting my attorney this morning to sign all the closing paperwork (it still amazes me how much paperwork is involved with real estate transactions), then he’ll handle the closing on my behalf. If that is the biggest hiccup involved with this move, I will count myself a lucky man.

Actions

Information

3 responses

7 08 2009
Fridays From The Frontline » Clear Admit: MBA Admissions Consultants Blog

[…] ‘11 Mike wrote about emptying his condo and watching his worldly belongings get driven away in a truck, none of which he will see again … until Saturday. Kellogg ‘12 Jeremy attended a […]

7 08 2009
Fridays From The Frontline | B-School Admissions Formula

[…] ‘11 Mike wrote about emptying his condo and watching his worldly belongings get driven away in a truck, none of which he will see again … until Saturday. Kellogg ‘12 Jeremy attended a […]

7 08 2009
Fridays From The Frontline - Daily Buzz

[…] ‘11 Mike wrote about emptying his condo and watching his worldly belongings get driven away in a truck, none of which he will see again … until Saturday. Kellogg ‘12 Jeremy attended a […]

Leave a Reply

